A Polgleish speaking cockney -Tomasz Wlodaraczyk

Child Migrant Stories

I was born in 1968 in Lodz, a Polish equivalent of 19th century, industrial Manchester. The old town is pleasing, secessionist architecture.

lodz-poland

Lodz Poland c.1970

lodz-prl Lodz Poland c.1970

The suburbs are communist brutalism.

lodz-polska Communist era apartment blocks in Lodz, 1967

Mother left when I was about seven or eight. I was quite young so I could move to different family members. They were given a 12-month sentence as I might not have been the best-behaved little boy.

My great grandmother was absolutely lovely. She was truly ancient, 90 something and had a lovely house just outside the city so it was gorgeous countryside. I had a good time there.

b293ada1cc8faef79ed9f0dc905b7c68 Countryside near Lodz

I lived with my father for a year or so because they were still together when my mother came here. They divorced when I was probably ten or something. He was a nice enough chap but liked the…

View original post 1,825 more words

Leave a Reply

